2 in running for top teacher

Two teachers from Forest Lake School District 831 are among the 111 nominated for the 2012 Minnesota Teacher of the Year program. Local teachers who have been nominated are Becky Haven, an English teacher at Forest Lake High School, and Robyn Dettling Madson, also an English teacher at the high school. This year’s program will name the 48th Minnesota Teacher of the Year. The 2012 teacher of the year will be announced Sunday, May 6, at The Northland Inn in Brooklyn Park. Over the coming weeks, a 22-member panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists, and then finalists. Education Minnesota organizes and underwrites the Minnesota Teacher of the Year Program, which receives program and award support from the following organizations: The SMARTer Kids Foundation, The Northland Inn, the Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, United Educators Credit Union, McDonald’s Restaurants of Minnesota, Teacher Federal Credit Union, Pearson Education and Education Minnesota ESI.