2 FL teachers semifinalists for teacher of the year

Two Forest Lake High School teachers are among the 34 semifinalists for the Education Minnesota Teacher of the Year competition. Robyn Dettling Madson, English, 10-12, and Becky Haven, English/Language Arts, 10-12, were among those selected by a special panel in St. Paul last week. The panel will meet again in late March to select about 10 finalists from among the group of semifinalists. The current Minnesota Teacher of the Year, Katy Smith of Winona, will announce her successor at a banquet at The Northland Inn in Brooklyn Park on May 6. EM, the 70,000-member statewide educators’ union, organizes and underwrites the program. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers from public or private schools. The Minnesota Teacher of the Year Program also receives support from: The SMARTer Kids Foundation, The Northland Inn, the Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, United Educators Credit Union, McDonald’s Restaurants of Minnesota, Teacher Federal Credit Union, Pearson Education and EM ESI.