Local FFA members receive honors

FL chapter holds 76th annual banquet

More than 150 community leaders, parents, members and FFA supporters filled Forest Lake High School on March 15 for the chapter’s 76th annual banquet and awards ceremony.

Honorary FFA member Wayne Houle is greeted by Jordan Clauson, a member of the Forest Lake chapter. (Photo by Jennifer Mevissen)

The event was dedicated to recognizing members for their outstanding efforts during the year. The FFA members elected the following individuals to honorary chapter membership:

• Dr. Steve Massey – Forest Lake High School Principal

• Kurt Schrader – Agriculture Department Advisory Board Member and dedicated volunteer

• Ross and Marta Nelson – parents of 2011 Minnesota FFA Degree recipient Rosalyn Nelson

• Tim and Chris Skarphol – parents of 2011 Minnesota FFA Degree recipient Ryan Rehbein

FFA members also received recognition for their outstanding achievements. Award winners included:

DeKalb Outstanding Senior – Nathan Daninger

Chapter Star in Production – Rachael Anderson

Chapter Star in Placement – Holly Winberg

Chapter Star Greenhand – Joe Ramstad

Leadership – Zach Christenson

Community Service – Amber McCarthy

Most Improved Member – Luke Niemczyk

Cooperation – Mariah Daninger

Sprit of FFA – Sarah Neeck

FFA Dedication – Ben Plautz

Washington Leadership Conference Scholarship – Rachael Anderson

Outstanding Fundraiser – Luke Niemczyk

Awarded Forest Lake High School Letters – Rchael Anderson and Amber McCarthy.

Excellence in Communication – Nathan Daninger, Amber McCarthy, Dakota Quimby and Shelby Sandstrom.

Scholarship – Montana Dunn (Grade 8), Joe Ramstad (Freshman), Mariah Daninger (Sophomore), Gabrielle Medina (Junior) and Nathan Daninger (Senior).

FFA advisor Mike Miron earns some laughs while introducing a senior FFA member. (Photo by Jennifer Mevissen)

Chapter proficiencies were also presented to the following students: Rachael Anderson (Swine Production), Zach Christenson (Wildlife Management), Dakota Quimby (Specialty Animal), Mariah Daninger (Dairy Production – Placement), Holly Winberg (Dairy Production – Placement), Matt Lennon (Nursery Production – Entrepreneurship), Ben Plautz (Nursery Production – Entrepreneurship), Nathan Daninger (Dairy Production – Entrepreneurship) and Jordan Clauson (Equine Science).

The Forest Lake eighth grade chapter members earned their Discovery Degrees as they begin their FFA experience. This year, pins were awarded to: Montana Dunn, Jessica Haines, Madelyn Smith, Nicole Whelan, Madelyn Heurung, Garret Ellertson, and Alex Cebulla.

Members with outstanding Supervised Agricultural Experience programs and exceptional participation in leadership activities were awarded degree pins. Members earning their Greenhand degree included: Randy Rehbein, Karley Boleen, Josephine Hudoba, Laura Lutz, Sarah Neeck, Emily Scherer, Joe Ramstad, Christian Thomsen, Ruthie Wind, Kyle Lund, Alexis Gabrielson, Ian Ulvin, Danielle Stace, Rachael Huset, Nic Heoykens and Ciera Kost.

Chapter degrees were presented to: Ben Plautz, Luke Niemczyk, Mariah Daninger, Emily Groeneweg, Amber McCarthy, Karlee Lawrence and Shelby Sandstrom.

Members who are advancing to state competition in Career Development Events were also recognized. CDEs allow students to demonstrate relevant connections between classroom instruction and real-life scenarios. The events are designed to help prepare students for careers in agriculture and demonstrate technical skills and knowledge in a competitive setting. The chapter is pleased to have state qualifiers in 12 events.

Finally, the 2012-2013 chapter officer team was installed. The team consists of:

President – Rachael Anderson

Vice President – Zach Christenson

Secretary – Mariah Daninger

Treasurer – Ben Plautz

Reporter – Amber McCarthy

Sentinel – Luke Niemczyk

Parliamentarian – Christian Thomsen

Historian – Joe Ramstad

The National FFA Organization, formerly known as the Future Farmers of America, is a national youth organization of 507,763 student members – all preparing for leadership and careers in the science, business and technology of agriculture – as part of 7,439 local FFA chapters in all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

The National FFA Organization changed to its present name in 1988, in recognition of the growth and diversity of agriculture and agricultural education. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.

The Forest Lake High School Agricultural Education Department offers courses and internship opportunities in the areas of animal science, plant science, natural resource science, mechanics, agri-business and leadership development. Students are also members of the Forest Lake FFA.

For more information about the Forest Lake Agricultural Education Department and the FFA chapter, contact an agricultural education instructor at 651-982-8495 or visit http://flhs.forestlake.k12.mn.us/FFA.