Wyoming soldier to receive Red Cross Heroes Award

Andrew Strege will be honored May 24

Andrew Strege, United States Army soldier and Wyoming resident, has been named a 2012 American Red Cross Heroes Award recipient.

One of 10 Heroes in the Red Cross Northern Minnesota Region, Strege will receive the Military Heroes Award on May 24 for courageous acts performed while on patrol in Afghanistan last September.

“Andy volunteered to walk out in front of his squad with a hand-held mine detecting device,” says John Swenson, Lino Lakes chief of police, who nominated Strege for the award. “While Andy was making sure the roadway was safe for the rest of his squad, an explosive device detonated, severely injuring Andy’s right leg.”

A hostile insurgent force ambushed Strege and his squad. In spite of his injury, Strege returned fire, enabling his squad members to seek cover and coordinate movements for his rescue. As a result, Strege lost half of his right leg, but saved the lives of his squad members. While still undergoing rehabilitation and learning how to live with a leg prosthesis, Strege is sharing his experience with others and looking forward to a career in education and law enforcement.

“Although Andy’s service to country came with a significant personal cost, Andy’s commitment to public service has endured,” Chief Swenson said. “Andy’s persistence to serve his community is truly inspiring.”

Strege and the other 2012 Heroes will be honored at the annual American Red Cross Heroes Breakfast on Thursday, May 24, at Target Field in Minneapolis.

The public is invited to attend, help recognize local heroes, and support their local American Red Cross. Tickets and table sponsorships are available online at redcrossmn.org or by calling 612-872-3246.

The American Red Cross Heroes Awards raise awareness about ordinary people whose extraordinary actions exemplify the Red Cross mission to prevent and alleviate human suffering in the face of emergencies. Each hero was nominated by a member of the community and selected by the 2012 Heroes Breakfast Nomination Committee.