Hegberg elected president of Community Action

Dennis Hegberg, Washington County commissioner from District 1, has been elected as the president of the Community Action Partnership of Ramsey and Washington Counties, commonly known as Community Action.

Community Action has a tri-representational board of directors, which includes one-third representation from the community sector, one-third representation from the private sector and one-third representation from the public sector.

Forest Lake resident Hegberg is the first Washington County commissioner to serve as the president of the board. He has served on the county board for 20 plus years.

Community Action Partnership of Ramsey and Washington Counties was established in 1964 as a program of the War on Poverty. Community Action Agencies became the service delivery arm of the Federal Office of Economic Opportunity.

As the only continuously funded anti-poverty program in the country, its mission is to mobilize community resources to reduce poverty. Funding is received from federal funds, the United Way and other private foundations; no local tax money is used for the programs.

Many Services

Community Action offers a variety of services to participants in Ramsey and Washington counties.  These programs include:

•Head Start and Early Head Start, quality early childhood learning, promoting school readiness through educational, health, nutritional, social services, and working with children from prenatal to age 3;

•Energy assistance and energy conservation;

•Self-sufficiency, helping low-income individuals and their families achieve financial independence through education, transportation programs, asset development, and job hunting skills; and

•Civic engagement, encouraging and teaching people to advocate on their own behalf, register to vote and become community leaders.

Hegberg is also serving as chairman of the Washington County Board in 2012.