39 named to 2 school Hall of Fames

Thirty-nine people will become part of Forest Lake Area Schools history next month as they are inducted into their respective halls of fame.

For the second straight year, the Forest Lake Area Schools District Hall of Fame will be adding new members to its collection of students, teachers and community members whose hard work, integrity, perseverance and dedication have helped the district achieve more than 100 years of success.

This year, nine new members will be inducted beside the 66 members who were inducted last year.

These individuals will be a permanent part of the hall of fame, which was started last year as part of the larger celebration of the 100th graduating class from Forest Lake High School.

The formal induction ceremony will once again take place in conjunction with the annual Forest Lake High School Academic Awards Night, which will be on Monday, June 4 at 7 p.m. at the high school auditorium.

In addition to the nine new district hall of fame members, another group of 30 athletes and coaches will be added to the newly revamped Forest Lake High School Athletics Hall of Fame.

The athletics hall of fame was started more than 20 years ago, but it has been many years since any new members have been inducted.

Because of the tremendous success of last year’s district hall of fame, school and district officials felt that it was time to re-start the tradition of honoring past athletes for their success.

In addition, this will mark the first year that coaches will become part of the hall of fame as well.

Hall of Fame

The Forest Lake Area Schools Hall of Fame committee, led by committee chairman Brian Tolzmann, is proud to announce that the following people will be inducted this year:

Virginia Hartmann, Betty Hestekin, Corbett Johnson, Doris Lellman, Howard Lestrud, Robert Marzolf, Courtland C. Nelson, G. Howard Ruggles and Jordis Unga.


Erin Turner, chair of the Forest Lake High School Athletics Hall of Fame committee, has announced that the following outstanding coaches and athletes have been selected to the 2012 athletics hall of fame class:

Greg Benson, Daniel Bever, Jack Conley, Andy Elvester, Bob Ewings, Jessica Fedderly, Paul Furrer, Amanda Gage-Didier, Angela Granquist, Chuck Gunderson, Don Hapka, Pete Hegseth, Stephanie Howe.

Ivars Kauls, Juris Kauls, Ziggy Kauls, Mitchell Marr, Troy Marr, Bill Morehead, D.J. Morehead, Bernard “Bud” Nygren, Allison Paitich, Joan Paulson, John Reiman, Angie Berg-Ryan, Pete Saxe, John Schumacher, Suzanne Stennes-Rogness, Wayne Thompson and Jim Trudeau.


In addition to the induction ceremonies, another event is planned to honor these recipients. A reception for all members of both halls of fame – including past inductees – will be at Forest Hills Golf Club on Tuesday, June 5 at 6 p.m.

“Both events are open to the public, but we would really encourage people from the community to come meet the inductees in person at the June 5 reception,” said Forest Lake Area Schools Superintendent Linda Madsen.

“This will be a great opportunity to socialize and to honor these fine people for their tremendous contributions to our school district.”

Anyone wishing to attend either event should RSVP to the school district office by Thursday, May 31. RSVPs should be to given Diane Borle and can be emailed at [email protected], or by phone at (651) 982-8104.