Wyoming police officers win YSB Trudeau award

Cliff Buchan
News Editor

Two Wyoming police officers have been named co-winners of the annual Lakes Area Youth Service Bureau James Trudeau Law Enforcement Award for 2011.


The LAYSB in Forest Lake announced this week that the 2011 winners are Sgt. Scott Dexter and patrol officer Rachel Columbus.

This award has been given annually by LAYSB, since 2000, in recognition of service to local youth above and beyond department objectives.

It law enforcement award is named in honor of the former Forest Lake chief of police and Washington County sheriff who helped found the Forest Lake Youth Service Bureau. Trudeau is now retired and living in Forest Lake, but remains active with LAYSB activities.


A public ceremony is planned in Wyoming honoring the 2011 co-winners.

Dexter and Columbus will be the guests of honor at a reception at 6:30 p.m., Tuesday, June 19 in the Wyoming City Council Chambers, 26885 Forest Blvd., Wyoming. The reception is prior to a regular meeting of the city council.

The public is invited to attend the reception.