FL Lions present club awards; Stegner is Lion of the Year

Forest Lake Lions Club members celebrated accomplishments for the 2011-12 club year at an awards banquet held Thursday night, June 21 at Vannelli’s by the Lake, Forest Lake.

Twenty-year member Stev Stegner was named the club’s Lion of the Year. He chaired several projects including the city banner project and he most recently chaired a painting project with Scandia-Marine Lions Club at the Forest Lake Area Community Helping Hand. Lion Stev is a past tailtwister and he has chaired the club’s tree planting project and mid-winter convention, as well as the Forest Lake Relay for Life, and has actively worked with numerous community events. He is a past recipient of the Melvin Jones Fellowship Award and is a past president of the Forest Lake club.

Clarice Beattie, daughter Sue Brelje and son Mike Beattie accepted a posthumous Multiple District 5M Hall of Fame plaque honoring Lion Bob Beattie for his 32 years of active membership with the Forest Lake Lions Club. Other Forest Lake Lions named to the Hall of Fame include late Lions Ed Locke, Norman Tolzmann and Elmer Peterson.

Forest Lake Lion Donna Mathias received a traveling trophy designating her as the Forest Lake Lions Club’s Rookie of the Year. Lion Norman Anderson received a progressive Melvin Jones Award. Receiving the club’s Helen Keller Award for his work with vision was Lion El Ewert. He received another vision award, the Spectacle Award, as did Lion Norman Anderson.

A special retention award was given to past president Lion Paul Rignell. At a recent District 5M-7 Awards Night program, Lion Rignell, on behalf of the  Forest Lake club, accepted a Club Excellence Award. Only two of the 53 district clubs received this award.

Lion Howard Lestrud was given a Minnesota Lions Diabetes Foundation, Inc. Dream Catcher Award. Lion Howard was also presented a Minnesota House of Representatives Proclamation, recognizing a recent honor given to him for his 50 years of service to the newspaper profession. The proclamation given to him by Rep. Bob Dettmer, Forest Lake, also saluted Lestrud’s 40 years of membership with the Forest Lake Lions Club.

Lion Nancy Immel will serve another term as club president.