Council filings open July 31 in 4 area cities

Cliff Buchan
News Editor

Four mayoral positions and eight council seats will be up for election this fall when residents of four area cities go to the polls.

The filing period for the Tuesday, Nov. 6 election opens on Tuesday, July 31 and continues for 14 days, closing at 5 p.m., Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Residents of Columbus, Forest Lake, Scandia and Wyoming will see local elections. In all four cities, mayors and two council members will be up for election. Mayoral terms are for two years while council terms are four years. All area cities elect representatives at-large.

The following is a list of the current city officials who must decide if they will seek reelection.

Community members interested in learning more about the positions should contact their respective city halls. Filings also take place at city hall.


Mayor Dave Povolny is completing his first two-year term in Columbus.

Council seats in Columbus that will be up for election are occupied now by Denny Peterson and Jeff Duraine. They were elected in 2008.

Forest Lake

In Forest Lake, Mayor Chris Johnson is completing his first two-year term.

Council seats now filled by Jackie  McNamara and Jim DuFour are up for election. Both were elected to four-year terms in 2008.


In Scandia, the current mayor, Randall Simonson, is completing his first two-year term.

Council seats filled by Connie Amos and Chris Ness are both up for election on Nov. 6.


In Wyoming, first term Mayor Eric Peterson’s post is on the Nov. 6 ballot.

The two council seats in Wyoming that are up for election this fall are now filled by Linda Nanko Yeager and Joe Zerwas.

The city council in Wyoming has also received a citizens’ petition calling for a reverse referendum on a city council decision to issue bonds of $2.5 million to acquire the former RiverBank building as the new city hall and to remodel and expand the current city hall building into a public safety center for local police and fire.