AP scholars announced

Thirty-five Forest Lake High School students and graduates received AP Scholar awards from Advanced Placement, a national program sponsored by the SAT College Board.

AP classes are college-level courses taught in the high school.

The courses are taught throughout the year, and all AP students take a national exam in May of each school year that is graded on a 1-to-5 scale.

Forest Lake offers 13 AP courses and 14 courses through the College in the Schools, a similar program.

AP credit is widely accepted as college credit at colleges and universities around the country.

To earn college credit, students must achieve a passing score of 3.0 or higher.

Three categories of awards are presented: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honors and AP Scholar with Distinction.

The AP Scholar award was presented to 19 students who received passing scores of 3.0 or higher on three or more AP exams: Miranda Anderson, Bennen Bierman, Annamarie Brennhofer, Teresa Brockman, Danielle Galvez, Marisa Heiling, Matthew Hill, Blake Hudak, Madeline Hume, Andrew Menne, Collin Murray, Stephanie Olson, Jessica Ramberg, Erica Rapheal, Emily Riermann, Rachel Swedin, Jonathan Voss, Kellie Wambold and Joshua Weed.

The 10 students earning the AP Scholar with Honors award received an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams they took, and they earned scores of 3.0 or higher on four or more of these exams: Jonathan Boyer, Adam Domitz, Magdalen Gadbois, Mitchell Hunt, Mary Kasl, Alexander Kelly, Jeanette Spanjers, Ryan Sudo, Hailey Swanson and Kayla Thole.

Six students earned the AP Scholar with Honors award, receiving an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3.0 or higher on five or more of these exams: Cale Gaffy, Maria Giorgi, Alexander Iverson, Erin Kerrigan, Jacob Lanasa and Kathryn Schwister.