Contests forming in area elections

Filing period closes Tuesday, Aug. 14

Cliff Buchan
News Editor

Election challenges are starting to take form in area cities and the one township where voters will elect new leaders on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

The 14-day filing period for local office opened on Tuesday, July 31 and closes at the end of the business day on Tuesday, Aug. 14.

All area elections are at-large contests.


In Linwood Township, two incumbents have filed for the three town board seats that are up for election.

Filing in Linwood are current board Chair Mike Parker for Seat C and Supervisor Philip Osterhus for Seat B. Also filing are Edward Kramer for Seat E and Carol Searing for Seat C.

Supervisor Mike Budde is currently serving Seat E, but has yet to file for reelection.

The town clerk’s position is also up for election. Judith Hanna and Sandra Mishler have filed for the post.

Current Town Clerk Judy Hanna said this week she expects to file for reelection in the coming days.


In Scandia, three filings were on record as of Tuesday morning of this week.

Mayor Randall Simonson has filed for a second two-year term. Council member Connie Amos has filed for reelection to a four-year term. The term of Council member Chris Ness who was appointed to fill a vacant seat is also up for election. He said this week he plans to file.

Also filing for the three council seats are local residents Bob Hegland and Dan Lee.


Two races have developed in Wyoming.

Mayor Eric Peterson has filed for reelection to a second two-year term. He will be opposed by Raymond Vinzant.

Two council seats will also be on the ballot for four-year terms.

Incumbent Linda Nanko Yeager has filed, but Council member Joe Zerwas has yet to file.

Also jumping in to seek council seats in Wyoming are Kriss Hakala and Dennis Williams.

Forest Lake

Three seats are also up for election in Forest Lake. Two council seats with four-year terms and the mayor’s seat for two years will be elected.

Mayor Chris Johnson has filed for reelection to a second term. He will be opposed by Bruce Anderson.

Seats now filled by Jackie McNamara and Jim DuFour are both up for election. DuFour has filed for re-election.


In Columbus City, the mayor and two council seats will be on the November ballot.

So far, City Administrator Elizabeth Mursko reports, the three incumbents have filed.

Mayor Dave Povolny and Council members Jeff Duraine and Denny Peterson have submitted affidavits of candidacy for the November election.

For filing updates, check