Nolan wins 8th District DFL primary

Former U.S. Congressman Rick Nolan has won the DFL primary in the Eighth Congressional District.

Nolan, who had received the party endorsement, defeated former state Sen. Tarryl Clark and former Duluth city official Jeff Anderson in Tuesday’s primary contest.

According to unofficial results from the Minnesota Secretary of State’s office, Nolan received 20,242 votes or 38.7 percent of the total. Clark was second with 18,665 votes or 31.5 percent. Anderson was a close third with 15,575 votes or 29.8 percent of the total.

In Wyoming, the southern most precinct in the district, 324 ballots were cast on Tuesday. In the Congressional primary, Clark was the top vote getter in Wyoming with 83 votes. Nolan picked up 60 votes and Anderson 35.

Nolan now goes on to the November 6 general election where he will meet first-term Rep. Chip Cravaack, R-North Branch. Cravaack was not opposed in the primary. He received 123 votes in the Wyoming precinct.