Times awarded in ECM contest

Newspaper an honorable mention pick in general excellence category


The Forest Lake Times picked up several honors in the ECM Publishers Better Newspaper Awards contest, the results of which were announced at the company’s annual banquet last Monday at Bunker Hills Golf Course in Coon Rapids.

The newspaper took second place in the categories of typography and design, general news reporting and sports reporting. It received honorable mention for the general excellence award named after ECM founder Elmer L. Andersen. The Anoka County Union won that award.

Individually, the Times’ current news editor and former sports editor, Clint Riese, earned top honors in the categories of best press photographer’s portfolio, best news photo, and best sports columnist. He was runner-up in the categories of sportswriter of the year and best sports news story. Riese earned honorable mention in the category of best local news story. A photo story by Riese and then-news editor Cliff Buchan also earned honorable mention from the judges from St. Cloud State University.

The window for contest entries was from September of 2011 through August of 2012. Buchan, now a staff writer, served as editor during that period.

The Times also won first place in the general excellence category of the Better Advertising Awards contest.