Fifteen to join school district’s halls of fame

Fifteen 2013 inductees into the Forest Lake Area Schools Hall of Fame and the newly-named Forest Lake Area High School Arts & Athletics Hall of Fame were announced Tuesday.

Joining the District Hall of Fame will be Dr. Barbara Bowers and Lyle (Robert) Morehead.

The Arts & Athletics Hall of Fame inductees include: Katie Alsdurf, Rick Bayless, Brian Brenberg, Kathy Briguet, John (Jay) Brisson, Charles G. Chalberg, Bob Dettmer, Bert Evgen, Adam J. Haayer, Nicky Hebert, Krista (Hipkins) Brenberg, Bill Jeans and Bobbie Jo (Saxe) Davis.

Ranger face logoThe honorees will be inducted at an event on June 3 held in conjunction with the Forest Lake Area High School Academic Award Night at the high school. The following evening, the inductees are invited to a reception in their honor at Forest Hills Golf Club.

The halls of fame are distinct institutions with separate committees that choose inductees based on different criteria.

The Arts & Athletics Hall of Fame was re-named this year in order to allow for the inductions of coaches, advisors and participants in all Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) sponsored activities, not just sports.

It was only last year that this hall of fame was brought back to life after more than a decade of inactivity. The original Athletics Hall of Fame was started back in the 1980s and members were regularly inducted until the late 1990s.

The District Hall of Fame was started in 2011, and 66 charter members were inducted in its first year. Another nine members were inducted last year.