Farmers in Washington, Chisago counties may be eligible for aid

Washington was among 20 Minnesota counties designated primary disaster counties by U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack in response to losses caused by winterkill from January through March. Continual thawing and freezing caused the natural disaster. In addition, Chisago County is among 15 contiguous disaster counties in the state. The declaration makes farm operators in these counties eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency. Operators in Washington County should contact the Dakota County Farm Service Agency office at 4100 220th St. W. in Farmington at 651-463-8626. Those in Chisago County should contact the Isanti County office at 380th Garfield St. S., Cambridge at 763-689-3353.