The Historic Walking Tour of Wyoming features several loops within the city. The McClintick Loop includes Wyoming United Methodist Church. Thanks to a donation of a riding lawnmower by Ed Kramer, a unique building project took off.
Kramer hatched the idea to build a shed in the form of a church, using a photo of the congregation’s earlier frame building as a guide. The shed, built this spring and summer, is a replica of the older church but was designed to match the exterior of the current church. Besides Kramer, those who helped with the construction were Don Metcalf, Rich Richnofsky, Tom Sausen and Troy Sausen. Karen Kramer painted the “stained glass” to match original windows which were moved from the old sanctuary in 1989 and incorporated into the new sanctuary.
The church has a rich history in Wyoming. According to a brochure for the historic walking tour, the original sanctuary, built in 1874, was a log structure located on the southwest corner of the Methodist Cemetery. The congregation built its first frame building in 1886, and in 1905 the church re-located on what is now the site of the First State Bank of Wyoming. This is the building which Kramer used as the model for the shed. In 1943 the church was moved to its location on East Viking Boulevard and Fenwick Avenue. The new church building was built on the same site in 1989.