Seven new inductees named to hall of fame

Community Editor

Seven new members will be inducted this spring into the Forest Lake Area High School Arts and Athletics Hall of Fame.

Former hockey standouts Aaron Forsythe and Bryan Peltier will be inducted, along with former gymnastics coach Dave Blasko, former dance team coach Robin Erickson-Lind, retired high school speech and drama coach Jane Gillis, Broadway and television star Christopher Sieber, and Ranger track star Heather Westmoreland.

All seven will be inducted at a formal event on June 5 held in conjunction with the Forest Lake Area High School Academic Awards Night. That event will be held in the auditorium of Forest Lake Area High School at 7 p.m. On June 6, all new hall of fame inductees – along with friends, family and anyone from the public interested in attending – are invited to a reception held in their honor at Forest Hills Golf Club. That event will run from 6 to 8 p.m.

The arts and athletics hall of fame initially began nearly 40 years ago, originally as just the athletics hall of fame. It was restarted in 2012 after a long hiatus, and in 2014 the institution was renamed so students and advisors who made noteworthy contributions to any Minnesota State High School League sponsored activity such as band, theater, speech and debate could be included.

Currently, there are 97 members of the arts and athletics hall of fame, and the 2017 inductees will bring that total to 102.